Trek XO2

A lightweight all-road/gravel bike for almost any ride

I got this as a frameset in the mid 2010s from local CL. The reason I picked this up was because I wanted a lightweight adventure (think 2010s definition of gravel) bike with road bike geometry to ultimately replace my Specialized Tricross (entry level specs, too heavy, toe overlap) and Ridley XBow (doesn’t feel responsive, high BB due to Euro geometry).

The frame has gone thru several incarnations, doing double duty at times as commuter and adventure/gravel bike. In its current form, it’s set up as a performance-/experience-oriented gravel bike for the non-racer.

I really like the SRAM drivetrain (Rival shifters and RD, Force crank) and Bontrager Paradigm Elite tubeless wheels with Continental Terra tires. The gearing is 46/34 x 12-40 with an RD extender to make it work.

The Roswheel handlebar bag is practical and makes the statement that I don’t care about speed or aerodynamics when riding this bike.

According to the imperfect records on Strava, this bike has the most miles among my collection. It really is the most versatile steed in the stable. As a fat tire bike, it feels very responsive and comfortable to ride. If I wanted to, I can turn this into a fairly lightweight all-road bike. I don’t know if it’s the alloy spec or the geometry, but this bike feels snappy yet smooth. I guess this makes sense, being Trek’s top end CX race bike at the time.

I love the candy red paint but am not thrilled about the relatively short head tube. It’s a 56cm but the short head tube makes it so that I can’t fit a frame/top tube bag. I also don’t like the aesthetics of the short head tube and the long fork steerer (which I am hesitant to cut, though I think it would look nice with a slammed stem). I’d love to try this frame in a 58cm. Maybe then I can fit a frame bag and get rid of the handlebar bag (even though it’s so practical).

Another quibble is that, being an older CX bike, tire clearance seems to top off at around 40mm. Not a huge deal for me but a limitation nonetheless.

This bike is my go-to bike for any rides that might involve mixed terrain. For many years it was also my default road bike for casual rides, though I’ve recently rediscovered the joy of riding a proper road bike on tarmac.

Leave a comment